Hello and welcome to the Chapel of El Pilar, also known as El Portal.
This old chapel is dedicated to the Virgin of El Pilar. It was built in the 18th century and was renovated in the 19th century.
Originally, the chapel stood on a higher level, supported by four arches forming a porch. Inside there was a carved image with a small altar, and the entrance was accessible by a flight of stairs located on the outside.
The chapel was next to the town’s old hospital, which was located in the building that presently houses a municipal warehouse. The hospital was a municipal institution that in the past served the purpose of giving shelter to temporary residents and the sick.
During the Peninsular war, between 1808 and 1814 the chapel was used as a temporary church, since the parish church had been occupied by the French troops.
During the Spanish civil war the chapel was practically destroyed. Only the arches that held it were preserved.
On a later date, two of the arches were pulled down in order to facilitate vehicle traffic through carrer Major. This is how the chapel ended up as we know it today, reduced to a niche that shelters the image of the Virgin above one of the arches.